JOY!

This week has been a week of Christmas miracles and they fill me with JOY!

 

Tuesday morning I’m sitting in studies in our apartment praying and praying for a miracle. A miracle where we set up an appointment for THAT DAY. I wanted to show my companion how with a little faith and hard work the Lord provides. And so we go out that morning and I am so, so determined! We talk to people and talk and talk and have some good conversations…but then the miracles comes as we approach a younger woman. She is happy to talk with us and we find out that she has a Book of Mormon. She has the most inspired questions and as we keep teaching and talking we end up going through the whole message of the Restoration and you can see the light in her eyes and everything clicks into place. We set up a time to meet that night, it didn’t work out because she had to stay late at work but we met up the next night and had such a feel good lesson!! Miracles are according to our faith!!!

 

Christmas Eve I got to skype home and it was fun to see all the summer Christmas celebrations. I have to admit, I’m excited for sunshine!! It has pretty much rained every. single. day here for the past 2.5 weeks, and if not it’s still been cloudy!! The family we Skyped from had us for lunch, they are the most kind people EVER. That night we spent time for a family that needed a little strengthening and the dad cooked us the best straight out of mexico food ever. SO GOOD. also stores here close early on christmas eve…no late night santa here!!

 

Christmas day we woke up and opened presents with exercise and cooked a delicious christmas breakfast…my companion likes to eat good food, hence how we could afford bacon and raspberry syrup haha!! We talked to people at the bus stop and we skyped Sister Magleby’s family ( so much screaming haha!!! ) and then we talked to people at the sky train station and then had dinner and sung christmas carols at a huge family gathering! the real Christmas miracle happened that night though…we get a called from the VanYSA sisters. They’ve been keeping me updated on a few investigators I knew really well there and one of them I found right before I left…anyway, they were all getting baptized this weekend. like 5 PEOPLE in one baptism!! But the conversation went like this..

“sister McKee, we havea  Christmas miracle for you!”

“…ok, What”

“It’s a real Christmas miracle!!”

“OK!! what is it!!”

“we just got off the phone with President and he wants you to be at the baptism this Sunday in Vancouver. ”

“……….silence….WWHHHAAAAT!!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!??!?!”

 

So yes, yesterday I got to go to my final baptism in VanYSA (Vancouver Young Single Adult congregation). My heart was so so full of joy! REAL ETERNAL JOY!! I just stood there and looked around at all those in white- they’re all recent converts now but I have seen most of the journey of every. single. one of them. It was the best Christmas present a mission President could give. It just filled me with so much of Heavenly Father’s love!! Everything from the past 18 months seemed to have led up to that moment. and I get 3 more weeks to pump it out and find more baptisms!!! While driving home with my companion after I just told her story after story about each of those guys…….converts will never comprehend a missionary’s love for them, just as we can’t comprehend the Saviour’s love for us!!

 

The person I found was Franz. It was a cold rainy night in Vancouver and we didn’t have much happening in our area. I was feeling so down about it all. So Sister Ditto and I prayed and felt we should go to Joyce. then we proceeded to set up 2 return appointments and met Franz. We met with him a couple days later and could tell he was so skeptical. He was Filipino and catholic. That’s the hardest nut to crack!! But as he stood and bore his testimony to us yesterday at the Baptism…he knows now. His first line was “When I first starting learning about this church I though “HELL NO am I going to be a mormon!!” (all the Americans flipped haha, american swear word) and then I actually prayed about it..” so many of them said that. All you got to do is PRAY ABOUT THE BOOK OF MORMON AND THEN IT’LL CLICK. Franz said he was so lost and then we walked up to him and now he is found (hahaha amazing grace???). talking to him after I just straight up asked “How do you feel about serving a mission?” And he smiled and said “I would love to. I want to find others who are lost and bring them here.”

The church is true.

Anyway, I love my mission. I love baptism. I love seeing others feel that pure joy. Go out and spread it!

 

Sister McKee

 

2 thoughts on “JOY!

  1. Dear Sister McKee (almost Holly again), I have SO enjoyed following your mission through your emails…what great memories you will ALWAYS have of this time spent serving the Lord, growing in faith, and finding people who you will love FOREVER…and they will love you, too. I think it will be a rare, rare day that you won’t think about your mission and the impact it has had on your life. The Lord blesses us SO much when we serve Him. I’m happy for you and so proud of the wonderful missionary you have been. Thank you so much for including me in your emails. Someday we hope to get back to New Zealand for a visit with all the people we love there, and you will definitely feel the same about Vancouver. Happy Rest-of-Mission and New Beginnings in 2016, Kathy (and Clyde) Farnes

    Date: Mon, 28 Dec 2015 20:57:31 +0000 To: ckfarnes@msn.com

  2. You are right Sis Mc Kee, the church is true and we have a thoughtful and merciful Heavenly Father who loves each and everyone of us. We are blessed so many times for our good works and led to begin more with others who are looking for the truth. When we give of ourselves and put prayer into action miracles can proceed. God bless – Sis Mareikura

Leave a Reply

